Democratic State Legislatures Seek to Expand Voting in the South

Republican lawmakers nationwide have introduced a record number of bills this year to limit access to the ballot and give the GOP an advantage in future elections — 361 voter suppression bills in all, according to data from the Brennan Center for Justice. Many of these bills have been introduced in Southern states including Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, and Virginia. The proposals would among other things implement stricter voter ID requirements, limit absentee voting, make voter registration more difficult, and allow aggressive voter roll purges.

13 States Set to Copy Georgia Law Restricting Independence of Election Officials

The bills target local officials, who were crucial in protecting the will of the voters from Trump’s challenges.

Racial Justice Activist Charles Booker Launches Exploration to Unseat Rand Paul

Last year, the former state lawmaker lost narrowly to centrist Amy McGrath in Democrats’ bid against Mitch McConnell.